Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: Hawkwin Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 1294  
Subject: smack talk Date: 8/29/2008 10:05 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
I do it.

Not because I am an expert or that I necessarily know more than other owners (though that is often the case when I do it), but because it often completely rattles the competition. This is especially true in pick up leagues like Yahoo.

Last night is a good example.

I usually start off light with various comments like, "bit of a reach."

That is exactly what I said last night when some guy took Delhomme in the 5th and as the 5th or 6th overall QB.

I went on to state that Delhomme's ADP is usually the 11th round.

Their reply was, "f.u."

And we were off to the races! Honestly, that is the first time in all my years of FF that anyone ever got that hostile to an otherwise benign comment.

We went back and forth after that, him trying to redicule the name of my team ("Oops I did it Again") by calling me brittney. Others chimed in by saying I had big boobs, etc. I ate it up. I replied, "thanks, they [the boobs] cost a fortune." Someone asked, "what are u 12 yrs old?" I replied, "No, by the age of 13, you learn to spell 'u' as 'you' so I don't qualify to be 12."

I actually use a silly name like "Oops..." to disarm the competition. If they think I am some silly girl, they might go easier on a trade.

It went back and forth like that for a few rounds while those doing smack back, had no time in which to prepare themselves for their next picks - and it thoroughly worked.