Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
What kind of mistake(s) can a person make when applying that would make him ineligible for social security for 2 or more years, given that he is at least 67 years old?

I volunteer at the local library in their computer lab. On Friday, 2 men came in and asked for help to set up a web-based fundraiser for one of the men. He lost his house to a fire a couple weeks ago and they wanted to do some kind of on-line fundraiser. While talking to them, the friend said that the homeless man (well living in a motel paid for by the American Red Cross for another week or so)had made a mistake when applying for SS and that he could not apply again for another 2 years. Are these types of mistakes real?

I doubt several other things they told me, so I wanted to find out if this part is true.

Barbara
Print the post Back To Top
I'm no SS expert, but, I can't imagine any action that would force a two year delay in application for someone 67 or older. Continue doubting.

Bob
What kind of mistake(s) can a person make when applying that would make him ineligible for social security for 2 or more years, given that he is at least 67 years old?

A criminal mistake? That is the only thing I can think of right now.
http://ssa-custhelp.ssa.gov/app/answers/detail/a_id/1224/~/h...

had made a mistake when applying for SS and that he could not apply again for another 2 years. Are these types of mistakes real?

I doubt several other things they told me, so I wanted to find out if this part is true.

I am on social security disability. Applications for social security disability can be denied, but you can appeal the denial, or reapply. I don't know if there is any type of mandatory waiting period to either appeal, or reapply, but my assumption is there is no such waiting period.
http://www.ssa.gov/pubs/10041.html
http://www.keefelaw.com/library/should-you-appeal-or-reapply...