UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: CatcherintheRye Two stars, 250 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 1482  
Subject: Some of my Fav Books Date: 12/7/2004 9:00 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
Hi all,
I am a newbie to this Board and there are a lot of people on the Berkshire Hathaway Board chatting on recreational reading. Maybe there's no interest on your part in my list of worthy reads (so please just move on and forgive my imposition). If, however, there's kindred spirits out there I welcome your own recommendations.

Here goes an eclectic ten on Fiction:

"An Equal Music", Vikram Seth.

"White Teeth", Zadie Smith.

"Vernon God Little", DCB Pierre.

"Oryx and Crake", Magaret Atwood.

"Les Miserables", Victor Hugo.

"East of Eden", John Steinbeck

"Mol Flanders", Daniel Dafoe.

"Rebecca" Daphne Dumaurier.

"Haroun & the Sea of Stories", Salman Rushdie

"War and Peace", Leo Tolstoy.

On Non-Fiction:

"The Last Lion" William Manchester (Churchill Bio).

"A World Lit only by Fire", William Manchester.

"Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds", Charles Mackay.

"From Beirut to Jerusalem", Thomas Friedman.

"The Rape of Nanking", Iris Chang (God rest her soul).

Thanks for reading; thanks for your thoughts.

Kind regards,
Catcherintherye

Print the post Back To Top
Author: UsuallyReasonabl Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 1321 of 1482
Subject: Re: Some of my Fav Books Date: 12/8/2004 9:32 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1