UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: TMF2Aruba Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool CAPS All Star Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308367  
Subject: Sometimes it's Not About Money Date: 3/3/2005 4:10 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 174
I just had to share this story because sometimes it takes an eleven year old to put things into perspective.

As many of you know, I've been teaching for many years. Most of those were spent teaching 8th and 9th grade, and this year I decided to give 6th grade a try.

I don't teach in an affluent area, and while many students come from middle class families, many more come from families with little and are just scraping by. Probably typical of many areas in this country.

Anyway, one of the paraprofessionals (what we used to call aides) is a lovely woman who helps out in the hallways, helps out at the front desk, etc. She's a single mom with three sons and imo, an amazing parent. This woman is the epitome of the term "scraping by". She does what she needs to do to make ends meet, but her priority is her family and teaching them the values she was raised with by her own family, specifically her grandparents.

I have her son in my class, and in all the years I've been teaching, I've never come across a more polite, respectful and decent young man. I'll call him "Michael". It's amazing to not only see how he interacts with adults, but with his own peers, to whom he displays the same respect and positive attitude.

Well, yesterday was "Michael's" birthday, and this morning another teacher and I were talking in the hall as he passed by. "Michael, how was your birthday?" I asked.

"Oh, it was fine. Thanks for asking."
My colleague who has him for another subject asked, "So, what did you get?"
"Well, I got two cakes," he said with a smile.