UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (28) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: NoIDAtAll Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308881  
Subject: Re: Student Loans, Consumer Debt, & Savings, OH Date: 2/20/2014 11:28 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
Spoken as someone who was able to work for a summer to earn enough to pay for a year's worth of college. Oh the good old days! My entire bill for 18 hours of classes my first semester in college was less than $300.

WOW! How I remember those days!! I graduated high school in 1967 with a B average, except that I made As in Math. I commuted to Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, IL from my Parents' home for %80.50 per quarter for a "full load" (16-18 hours) quarterly - basically, 4 courses, plus maybe something like a bowling "course" for an extra hour - Ya needs, a little, pass time, though I am quite sure that I will never become a professional bowler. At the time it was, pretty much, a 2-edge sword - Either do well in college, with a student deferment from the war in Viet Nam and have a chance at a decent job, or get drafted and go to Viet Nam. I chose the former. A LOT of guys I went to high school with that went to SIU got drafted - A close friend and neighbor got drafted into the 101st Airborne Division of the Army, served on many of the HOT fire bases in Viet Nam and came back with a Silver Star, a Bronze Star, a Purple Heart and 2 Clusters. I am glad that he made it back alive, and so is he - though relieved is probably a better word, I suspect, from his experiences and perspective.