UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (16) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: CrestlineKathy Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 31087  
Subject: Squirrels and nuts Date: 3/28/2004 12:24 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I met a man last night who told me that feeding squirrels raw peanuts or any kind of nut would kill them because they don't have the enzymes to digest them, yet I've been feeding my squirrels nuts for 2 years now and they are still alive. Believe it or not, I can tell which one is which after interacting with them so much, they have different personalities just like my cats. Anyway, does anyone know if there is any truth to his story? Weve lost of lot of pine trees up here due to the bark beetle (I'm in the San Bernardino Mnts) and fires so I try to supplement their diet with something to make up for the loss of pine nuts. Would sunflower seeds be better for them or is he telling me an old wives tale?

Thanks,
Kathy
Print the post Back To Top
Author: ogrecat Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 13684 of 31087
Subject: Re: Squirrels and nuts Date: 3/28/2004 12:29 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 4
Would sunflower seeds be better for them or is he telling me an old wives tale?

http://www.newton.dep.anl.gov/askasci/bio99/bio99463.htm

Author: jfruhbauer Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 13685 of 31087
Subject: Re: Squirrels and nuts Date: 3/28/2004 12:51 PM
Recommendations: 1
I try to supplement their diet with something to make up for the loss of pine nuts.