Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: LUTZD Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121169  
Subject: STOCK TAX Date: 11/19/1999 4:46 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am a pure rookie at this, so here it goes...If I'm trading online, when do the tax considerations come into play, at the end of the year? Assuming I'm not in a IRA or pension plan. I feel like a fool for asking......
Print the post Back To Top
Author: hghcpa Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 21397 of 121169
Subject: Re: STOCK TAX Date: 11/19/1999 5:04 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
I am a pure rookie at this, so here it goes...If I'm trading online, when do the tax considerations come into play, at the end of the year? Assuming I'm not in a IRA or pension plan. I feel like a fool for asking......
=========

I live by the rule that in reality there is truly no such thing as a dumb question - so dont be scared to ask - it is the only way you learn.

The gains and losses from your stock transactions will be reported to you by your broker. You are responsible for reporting those on your tax return and paying any applicable taxes with the return. If you are successful at your trading and you make gobs of money then you may be wise to investigate paying your taxes quarterly in the form of "estimated tax payment" on form 1040-es. Doing so may keep you from paying a penalty on your tax return.

Try the FAQ for more detailed answer on the rules regarding estimated taxes.

Pete

Author: pmarti Big funky green star, 20000 posts Home Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 21404 of 121169