Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Dodgeball Two stars, 250 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121564  
Subject: Student Loan Credit and Higher Educational Expen Date: 11/17/1999 8:27 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
I took advantage of the student loan interest credit on last year's tax return and am wondering what the cap is this year. For some reason, I believe it's $1500. Am I correct?

Also, as a teacher I am currently attending graduate school. Do I qualify for some type of refund/credit on tuition paid for grad school?

Thanks,
Dodgeball
Print the post Back To Top
Author: jessholl One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 21318 of 121564
Subject: Re: Student Loan Credit and Higher Educational E Date: 11/18/1999 8:08 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I do not have the info on this years cap right now.

But I can answer the second question. You would qualify for the lifetime learning credit on the graduate school if you are enrolled for six or more credits per semester. The credit is for 20% of the first $5000 you pay for tuition, books and lab fees. General fees cannot be used.

Author: TMFTaxes Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 21415 of 121564
Subject: Re: Student Loan Credit and Higher Educational E Date: 11/19/1999 7:11 PM
<<I took advantage of the student loan interest credit on last year's tax return and am wondering what the cap is this year. For some reason, I believe it's $1500. Am I correct?>>

Yup...you sure are.