Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: ivydoc Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121189  
Subject: Tax Brackets Date: 2/3/1999 1:16 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm a student who bought some Dell last March and am looking to sell before they announce earnings Feb 16th.
It will be my only source of income for the year (about $4000 profit). I was wondering whether or not I will have to pay taxes on it since in the state of Massachuestts if you make less than $8000/year you don't pay income taxes. (is stock proftis considered in the same catagory as work-income?) If I do have to pay taxes, what rate will I have to pay and would it be less if I held the stock for a full year? (thats what i hear) Basically I'd like to know so that I can weight the benefits for selling before 2/16 (since dell usually tanks a bit after earnings annoucements no matter how good) or holding till March for a lower tax rate.
Thanks for you help!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFTaxes Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 9544 of 121189
Subject: Re: Tax Brackets Date: 2/5/1999 12:00 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
[[I'm a student who bought some Dell last March and am looking to sell before
they announce earnings Feb 16th.
It will be my only source of income for the year (about $4000 profit). I was
wondering whether or not I will have to pay taxes on it since in the state of
Massachuestts if you make less than $8000/year you don't pay income taxes. (is
stock proftis considered in the same catagory as work-income?) ]]