Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Boomshaka Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121159  
Subject: Tax Forms Date: 1/13/1999 3:02 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi,
I am currently a college freshman who has begun trading online. Since this is the first time I have traded I am quite confused about how investment taxes apply to me. Also, my brokerage account is my own,
although I am still a dependent under my parents since I am a student. Does this fact affect my financial statement/forms - is tax taken on gains/losses and how much and within what time period? What forms do I
fill out for the government, or do they obtain the information from the brokerage? And when must I file for these forms, and which ones do I need?

Thanks, I REALLY appreciate your help!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: mathetes Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Motley Fool One Everlasting Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 8339 of 121159
Subject: Re: Tax Forms Date: 1/13/1999 12:43 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
I am currently a college freshman who has begun trading online. Since this is the first time I have traded I am quite confused about how investment taxes apply to me.

Hi, Boomshaka

Even though you're a college freshman, you must have filed IRS tax returns before, just to account for summer or part-time jobs and be able to get a refund. Accounting for your profits or losses from trading isn't a lot more complicated. It goes on Schedule D of the 1040 Form. You can get a copy of the form and some instructions for it from the IRS site below.

http://www.irs.ustreas.gov/forms_pubs/forms.html