UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (14) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: CJSmith241 Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76235  
Subject: Tax Sheltered Annuity-Bad idea? Date: 8/5/2006 10:35 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Greetings fellow Fools. I certainly hope someone could help me out here. I am a teacher just about to start my sixth year. During my first year teaching a really nice fellow came into the teacher's lounge, offered sandwiches and asked me if I thought of my retirement. No, I hadn't but about two hours later, he had me signed up for a tax sheltered annuity plan. I didn't know it then but I now know that TSA's are not the best way to go when you are contributing to a 403 retirement plan. However, my financial planner (or whatever you want to call him) did do a good job suggesting mutual funds for this plan. In the past five years, I have made about $1200. The only time I lost anything was in the past few months and that was only $40 or so. I've paid about $150 worth of fees in the past five years and was told that once I have $20,000 in the account, all fees will be waived.

Question is, is this really that bad of a deal? In addition to this, if I have a 403 plan like this, the school district will throw in some kind of match. Not a lot but it's something.

So what should I do here? Should I stay with this TSA? Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

CJ
Print the post Back To Top
Author: DeltaOne81 Big gold star, 5000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 52946 of 76235
Subject: Re: Tax Sheltered Annuity-Bad idea? Date: 8/5/2006 11:44 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
I would question a little how much you know the details.