Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: MightyMouse Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121114  
Subject: Taxes and strategies Date: 11/17/1998 4:37 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
ok
I'm new to this investment game and the advice from the Motley fools seems solid in theory. My question(s)are: who has the 10 grand to shell out to buy 4 of the top 10 performers on the DJIA? I sure don't! and by investing in mutual funds and a Roth IRA and my 401(k)I can give a little each month...the big boys of the Dow can cost $100 a share...

2nd question...mutual funds are tax shelters and I'm combining before and after tax (401 and Roth IRA) investments. If you buy lots of stock on the DJIA and then 1 yea later (per the brothers' advice) sell shares in 1 company to grab a higher performing one..you get taxed to DEATH! it doesn't seem like the Lead Fools take that into consideration when talkign about yield....

any input is welcome, though!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: jessholl One star, 50 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 6346 of 121114
Subject: Re: Taxes and strategies Date: 11/17/1998 6:33 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
You may want to check out the DRIP portfolio for investing smaller amounts of money.