Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
Since I am new to Fooldom, I have two questions. I am getting way too much back on my tax return this year. Is there a good strategy for minimizing Tax returns?

I don't mind getting some money back, but this year is just ridiculous. I'm not complaining about having the money, but would like to have had the opportunity to do something with it during the previous year. This was not expected.

Also, as this is my first post, is there a Discussion board etiquette guide other than the Newbie Tutorial?
Print the post Back To Top
To reduce your tax refund, you will have to file a new W-4 with your employer. You can get a W-4 from your employer or from the IRS web site http://www.irs.gov

If you have multiple sources of income in your household or a second job, or more in itemized deductions than your standard deduction, be sure to work out the pertinent worksheet(s) on Page 2.

Publication 919 (also on the IRS web site) goes into more detail and has more worksheets.

If all else fails, you could just increase the number of allowances you declare on your W-4, but keep in mind that filing a fraudulent W-4 could result in a $500 fine, so it is better to go through the exercise of the worksheets before deciding to arbitrarily add 1 to your allowances.

Can answer your first question - - - do your "due diligence" on Form W-4 ! !

In other words pay attention to the instructions re the amount you want to be witheld from your paycheck ! !
If you have multiple sources of income in your household or a second job, or more in itemized deductions than your standard deduction, be sure to work out the pertinent worksheet(s) on Page 2.