Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

No. of Recommendations: 0
I am a student and was asked to do some tutoring for for some fellow students. The payment will be reported on a 1099-MISC.

I just wanted to verify that these payments basically require me to fill out a Sch C or C-EZ. I guess the entire payments are "profits" since I had no expenses, and I must pay FICA taxes on the entire amount, so I also need to file a Sch SE too, right?

Thanks, FFL
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 2
I am a student and was asked to do some tutoring for for some fellow students. The payment will be reported on a 1099-MISC.

I just wanted to verify that these payments basically require me to fill out a Sch C or C-EZ. I guess the entire payments are "profits" since I had no expenses, and I must pay FICA taxes on the entire amount, so I also need to file a Sch SE too, right?

Yes. If the profits exceed $433, not only will you have to file a Sch. SE, you'll have to pay self-employment tax (unless your wage and salary income from other sources exceeds the maximum for Social Security in 2004).

Ira
No. of Recommendations: 1
I guess the entire payments are "profits" since I had no expenses

Are you sure you have no expenses? Will you have transportation to the place you will be tutoring? Will you provide any study aids? Will you need to pay for any copying? Do you need to buy any texts to use in the tutoring?
(unless your wage and salary income from other sources exceeds the maximum for Social Security in 2004).

I wish!! :)
No. of Recommendations: 3
Are you sure you have no expenses? Will you have transportation to the place you will be tutoring? Will you provide any study aids? Will you need to pay for any copying? Do you need to buy any texts to use in the tutoring?