Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: yenomit Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121150  
Subject: Taxes on Capital Gain Date: 12/12/1997 11:42 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm a newbie stock seller and can't quite wrap my mind around the IRS instructions for taxes on capital gains.
Can someone advise?

I've sold some stock, held for over 18 months, for a gain. My taxes this year will be substantially more than 90% of my tax withholdings from my paycheck (or last year, for that matter). This is based on the _sample_ 1997 tax forms on the IRS web site. 

Now, I know I need to file Schedule D and 1040 for my US taxes, but...... do I file/pay estimated taxes on 
the gains before the end of January? If I understand the rules correctly, I could be fined if I don't.

Nemo
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFTaxes Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 913 of 121150
Subject: Re: Taxes on Capital Gain Date: 12/14/1997 2:41 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
<<I'm a newbie stock seller and can't quite wrap my mind around the IRS instructions for taxes on capital gains.
Can someone advise?

I've sold some stock, held for over 18 months, for a gain. My taxes this year will be substantially more than 90% of my tax withholdings from my paycheck (or last year, for that matter). This is based on the _sample_ 1997 tax forms on the IRS web site.

Now, I know I need to file Schedule D and 1040 for my US taxes, but...... do I file/pay estimated taxes on
the gains before the end of January? If I understand the rules correctly, I could be fined if I don't.>>