Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (30) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: jammasterlee One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 6729  
Subject: Re: Saving up for house Date: 8/27/2006 9:44 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Thank you all for all the wonderful advice. And thanks to Obi for notifying me that people had responded to this.

I didn't quite understand all of the posts as I'm new to this. It took me a while to piece together what PI was. Principle and Interest I take it. I am actually located in Boston where purchasing a home for one is almost a complete ripoff. When I buy, I'd like to get a 3 bedroom place or so to offset some of the mortgage costs. I'm pretty used to getting tenants so I understand the hazards there.

Given my area and the high housing prices, does it make sense to go in with a small down payment? Personally, if I'll be renting out, it seems to make a ton of sense. I just didn't know people made loans with such small DP's, like say 10% or less.

The housing market right now is in a downward trend. Demand has shored up and prices are taking a while to adjust. Houses are sitting on the market for well over 90 days it seems.

I have an income of about $42k and I live WELL below my means. I save a ton of money. I don't live on PBJ, but I find my deals and spend in short bursts when I have to.

Point taken about stocks. In my mind I knew that bear markets, or pricing in general can take 5+ year downswings but somehow it just never entered my head as to my own situation. I'm itching buy more of ZIPR but um, that's probably not a good idea. I don't know, I'll have to think about that one considering my goals.

I wonder if one of you all could spell out some of those acronyms?

Thanks so much!
Jamz