UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (2) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: gapfan Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 461  
Subject: Re: Just letting the words flow - long Date: 1/17/2005 1:40 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 4
Thank you, Kerri, for sharing your story!! It is very close to the thing that got me to accept the AA idea of trying to live without alcohol. I did not (and still do not know 'for sure' that I am alcoholic) but when I heard a story such as yours I listened. I call the adventure "preview of coming attractions" just like at the movies. At an open AA meeting I could listen to a speaker tell his story. He would get to the point where I felt I might be. But then he continued. As with the movies, I considered the "previews" and thought I did not wish to "see that movie." I am a Chemical Engineer by training, am a Tau Beta Pi (honorary society suggesting intelligence), held a good position in a company, was still married (and still am), had no arrests or encounters with the law, money in the bank, drove new cars, and many other reasons why I was not "like the people in the meeting." But I listened and continued to attend meetings and did not drink. I could look back to many situations where I did something I had no intent of doing, like driving with a load of people in the car when I had too much to drink. (I had even let another person drive but I thought he drove too poorly so "took over" since it was my car.) We had been to an American Chemical Society meeting and a host company had "too much drink and too little food." (Of course I was not in the least to blame for drinking too much.) My car at the time was a 1966 Dodge Coronet, and I had placed a handful of stick pretzels on the dash. Some of these rolled forward into the defroster vents, and for the next year, when I turned on t