UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: yttire Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 242  
Subject: Re: This theory is for you Date: 3/4/2004 9:39 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Thanks for you question.

This is a very good question. It is such a good question, I will not be able to answer it to your satisfaction I am afraid, but I will try.

I applied the theory to abstract computational systems (I was in computer science) and it is applicable to our universe, but my knowledge of our universal laws is not as robust as I would like. I studied Y in theoretic mathematical spaces, and then attempted to understand it in terms of our own physical universe.

With that caveat, in my research of understood universal laws- most of physics is deterministic. In fact, the predominance of physics taught in universities is concentrated on determinism, and I think this stems from Newton- arguably the founder of modern science- and that his theory was founded on the principals of determinism.

However, of course, the exception -as it is understood at this time- is quantum mechanics. So therefore, the only place Y can change in our universe is with quantum mechanics! Note it is irrelevant which laws are deterministic and which are not- we can still assess the Y of the system. However, it appears we have a decent grasp of much of the physical law which surrounds us, making it easier to assess Y.

The first form of quantum mechanics was "matrix mechanics" and difficult to visualize or for physicists to comprehend.