UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (22) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: BenHacker Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 35346  
Subject: Re: 10 year treasuries Date: 1/3/2014 9:13 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
Thanks Joel.

Not much new, really. My new job makes finding time to research investment ideas a little difficult. That and I've been a little discouraged that what I see can do that much better than the market in general.

That's natural I think. This (beating the market) is frankly pretty difficult to do. Since I've been doing my RIA biz + a full time job for 7 years I can definitely relate. I think broad indexing can make a ton of sense and simplify your life a lot for the vast majority of people as long as you have a plan and stick to it and save strongly.

I also took a stake early in '13 in QCOM (tech common), ARMH (tech common) and NLY-D (REIT preferred).

mREITs scare me in general but I have owned some aspects of them off and on over the years. I feel the same way about tech as you do. I've owned small stakes in MSFT / NOK / AMZN in the past and a bigger stake in GOOG (sold a few years ago around $650... whoops). Just can't get into it given the change even though I work directly in the fray with a lot of these guys.

I added to a position in PMT (REIT common) and have been thinking about researching NLY again with an eye to the common (or to closing the preferred position since the common's yield is almost too good).