No. of Recommendations: 1
*That in and of itself is a violation of PGA rules. He's required to use the same type of ball during the entire round. Whether the ball was a prototype shouldn't have made a difference.*

The above statement is incorrect. Unless the tournament rules committee invokes a "local rule" requiring the playing of one ball only during an 18 hole round, a player can use as many different balls he or she wants as long as the replacement is performed at an appropriate time. An appropriate time would be "between holes" or any time if the ball "in play" was deemed "unfit for play".

In additon, Rule 5-1 reads, "The ball the player plays must conform to the requirements specified in Appendix III.

Note: The Committee may require, in the conditions of a competition (Rule 33-1), that the ball the player plays must be named on the current List of Conforming Golf Balls issued by the United States Golf Association. PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE 5-1: Disqualification."

So in fact, per USGA rules,a player can use any number of balls during a round of golf as long as it is a "conforming ball". If it's not, the player must disqualify themselves.
Print the post  


What was Your Dumbest Investment?
Share it with us -- and learn from others' stories of flubs.
When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.