UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (18) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: zsimpson Big funky green star, 20000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 42361  
Subject: Re: How do you (working parents) do it? Date: 1/5/2009 2:09 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 5
That's a tough question to say. I can take the time off or go part-time, DH can't (or risks a foolishly generous pension plan). Affordability isn't really an issue, but he is the one who really wants kids and he is far better suited to being a stay-at-home. Plus it's hard to look at the missing cashflow and not resent it.

Something that zuzu lightly touched on is how your attitudes may change after having a child. I was a network engineer before we had kids. I had absolutely no intention of staying home. I could not imagine being alone with a child all day, nor could I imagine giving up my career which I had worked so hard to build. I too, had a rather generous income, and I truly loved my job, and really could not imagine EVER wanting to be at home.