Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: nole1 Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 17155  
Subject: The 4th wave... Date: 3/7/1999 12:47 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
Warning: Long post

Hi, all. This is my first post here and I probably won't be back for a while (if you respond, please click the e-mail to poster checkbox). Oracle is one of my picks for what I term "the 4th wave" and I'd like to hear your opinions. I was an Oracle developer for 2 years, so I do have some experience. I transferred to doing other software development a few months after Oracle 8 was released, so I haven't had a chance to see what it can do. I'd be interested if you could include your opinions on how Oracle 8 is compared to version 7.3, and also on the new Oracle 8i. You can find me mostly at the @Home (ATHM) board and slumming in the Oil Services board, which a group of us recently started. Thanks! Now, without further adieu....

Well, with a little rest and looking at charts, I was finally able to clear my head enough to look at the big picture!

We've all known it for some time, that's why we're at CSCO, ATHM, SUNW, UNPH and ORCL. These are my picks as the dominant players in what I call "the 4th wave".

There have been three well defined waves of technology on which you could have ridden in the past 15 years to amazing wealth by playing the dominant players and I see a 4th wave and a 5th wave developing now....

Wave 1 - The Personal Computer

The personal computer and all its attendent peripherals. These plays would have been good the whole time, because the other two waves count on continued growth in the number of PCs...

Software: Microsoft(MSFT)
Chips (INTC)
Printers (HWP)
The PCs themseleves:
Dell (DELL)
Compaq (CPQ)