UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: ribbs123 One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 66  
Subject: Re: Small cap investing Date: 12/9/2003 2:10 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
The article on MDCI caught my eye as well so I'll share a couple of observations. Before putting too much faith in what I have to say, though, you should know that I'm also relatively new to investing (particularly small cap investing) and that I haven't fully examined the company. I also don't have time right now for a really thorough look.

If you want a comparison against the criteria in the Motley Fool Investment Guide, you'll need to post them. I think I've read the book (that's one of their earlier ones, right?), but don't have it. (I get most of my investment books from the library...)

One thing to keep in mind with small cap investing is that the stocks can be very volatile. The article on the Fool seems to have moved the stock from ~16 to ~18. The stock could decide to drop to 16 (or below) on no news in particular and actual bad news could give quite a drop in price. On the plus side, of course, the stock could rise for no particular reason and may gap up on good news. I definitely recommend that you hold small caps as part of a larger portfolio.

Now for the company itself...
Gross margins seem to be trending down (29.9% and 30.8% for the last two years, but less than 27% for the last two quarters...) but net margins seem to be holding up pretty well (13.3% and 12.5% for the last two years, 12.6% and 12.3% for the last two quarters). I don't think the margins would vary seasonally for medical supplies, but that would be something to check in the quarterly press releases.