UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (35) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: CultClassic One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 41614  
Subject: Re: Poll: Who needs to be cut out of the Loop? Date: 11/29/2005 8:55 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 41
The Doctors, they make too much already

.02 about this since I am a doctor.

First, I'll say that I don't think that we deserve sympathy. There aren't many doctors that I know who are shopping at Goodwill but here are a couple of things to consider:

Doctor salary is highly variable.

Graduates of American medical schools are opting out of primary care because it doesn't pay so much as you imagine. The average pediatrician makes about $120,000. That's average, so roughly half below, half above. For this you go through 4 years of medical school, accumulate $100,000 in debt, work 70-80 hours per week at $40,000 during your residency. Then you spend the rest of your working life taking calls and rushing to the hospital in the middle of the night. A lot of doctors in primary care start to question if it is all worth it after awhile.

In contrast, dermatologists accumulate the same amount of debt, but in their professional life make $300-500,000 per year, work 35 hours per week and take no after hours call.

Why the disparity? Because the medical system pays a whole lot for that little biopsy that the dermatologist snips off your rash and very little for the office visit to the pediatrician for your child's abdominal pain.