Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Eskrigian One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 96  
Subject: Re: what to do?? Date: 3/14/2007 12:12 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
The Hidden Gems article below is from Oct. 2006. I'm a newbie and don't understand much of it, but I sense that it isn't positive news. If so, why is MF recommending the stock? If I'd read this article before my purchase I probably would've refrained. Fortunately, I only have 200 shares and will HOLD because that's what most analysts are suggesting.

Radyne
We saw several firsts from Radyne's (Nasdaq: RADN) third-quarter results. It was the first fully comparable year-over-year quarter after the Xicom acquisition in the second quarter of 2005, and it also marked the first conference call ob the watch of new CEO Myron Wagner. Unfortunately, a couple of bad habits reared their heads, and the results themselves weren't pleasing for investors (and the stock got kneecapped 16% in early trading).

Q3 '06
Q3 '05

Sales
$32.1
$32.1

Earnings Per Diluted Share
$0.15
$0.16

Gross Margin
44.3%
41.6%

Operating Margin
11.8%
13.6%

Net Margin
8.6%
9.0%

Effective Tax Rate
32.5%
33.7%

Bookings in Quarter
$32.1
$36.3

Backlog at Quarter's End
$33.2
$34.0

Dollar amounts in millions except earnings per share.

I've always had qualms about the management team's generosity to themselves, and I think we saw two fine examples in the quarterly results. A flat top line, improved margins, and a lower effective tax rate translated to lower diluted earnings per share. And the operating margin would have been nearly 3 percentage points higher, exceeding last year, were it not for the insidious effects of "equity compensation" that must now be expensed.