Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (23) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: sonofed Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 53806  
Subject: The sale of a lifetime... Date: 1/21/2003 10:20 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 83
For those of you who don't know, I do sales for a living. For those of you who know a little bit about sales, you may be thinking "Then how the heck do you have time to write these seemingly endless scrolly posts?". Well, that's a good question, and as soon as I think of an answer, I'll give it to you...

Actually, as I said in a previous post, I only cover about 8 accounts for my company. In my effort to support these people and reach my sales goals, I have discovered that there is an upper limit to how much time I can spend actively engaging the people in these accounts. At some point, you cross the line from "helpful, concerned, supportive salesperson" to "really big pain in the a$$". Over time I have developed a finely honed sense of just where that line lay. The result is that about 30% of my job now is just showing up.

The good news is that I'm really, really good at just showing up. In fact, I would venture to say that I am the hands down champion at just showing up. I think it's a skill I developed during my military training. If ever there was a group of people who were concerned with people showing up, it was the military.

Of course, that isn't what I wanted to tell you about today. Today, I wanted to tell you about a personal victory. You see, today I closed the sale of my career.