UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (110) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Prev | Next | Next Thread
Author: Goofyhoofy Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Top Recommended Fools Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76406  
Subject: Re: What age to take SS payments? Date: 12/8/2013 4:17 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 125
The thing I never see mentioned in this debate is the "utility of money", it's always about the "quantity of money."

I'll try not to make this too convoluted. My father is 92; my mother died a few years ago at age 90, so I have some personal experience with old-ness. Dad is now at an assisted living place after three years of being in an independent living facility. He has a couple million dollars worth of portfolio, which does him absolutely no good, except to pay the $5,500 a month rent on his (very nice) apartment.

In fact, I would say that from the age of 85 onward, their money didn't benefit either Mom or Dad much; their ability to travel was well behind them; it's not as though they were going to fly to Greece to see the ruins, and since both gave up driving they didn't need new cars, new mink coats, or new much of anything wasn't really in the cards either.

I understand the "break-even" age for Social Security is 82, that is, if you start taking the benefit early you will get a smaller amount for longer; if you wait until age 65 you will get a larger amount for a shorter duration, and all things considered, at age 82 you will cross the line to more "quantity of money."