Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Goofyhoofy Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Top Recommended Fools Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 156927  
Subject: Re: Repatriation tax Date: 3/3/2013 10:19 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 6
There are lots of opinions and misinformation about this issue, and since I am not a tax expert I might repeat some of it which is not right, so beware. That said, I have done a fair amount of reading on the subject and here is what I understand:

The first misconception is that companies will have to pay the full "nominal" corporate income tax rate to bring back the money. Untrue. First, very few pay the full nominal rate (35%) anyway, thanks to deductions, credits, etc. The average rate paid is something in the low 20's, IIRC. Second, the repatriation tax only matters on the differential between what is paid in the foreign country and the corporate rate the US home corporation pays.

So, for instance, if you have already paid 14% in (for example) Great Britain and your rate in the US is 25%, you will pay not the higher nominal 35% rate, but an additional 11%.