UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (15) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: aja91 Two stars, 250 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308240  
Subject: Re: HELP-$11k in CCDEBT Date: 5/25/2001 10:00 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
This is my first time on the site and I love it!!

I need help---my husband and I have accumulated $11k in credit card debt on top of about $8k in student loans I am paying $250.00/month on and will be until June 2004. We recently had a beautiful baby girl and I am only working part-time to cut out any daycare costs. We own a home and just refinanced at 7.125% for 30 years. We also are at the end of a lease on our vehicle and need to buy a new vehicle and need 4wd because of the location of our house. I feel totally overwhelmed - we are able to meet all of our monthly bills, but I'm starting to feel like the cc debt will never be gone. Should we take out a personal loan or consolidate all of our debt. We both contribute to 401(k) and/or deferred comp. plans - should we stop those contributions - I am 27 and my husband is 30??

We really want to start a College Fund for our Daughter who is 7 months old - but realistically we know we need to get out of debt first!!

Taking these in order:
I'm assuming the $250/month until June 2004 is just the student loan payment. You're probably paying about the same monthly on your credit cards.

OK, here are my suggestions:
(1) Put the credit cards away. Get a plastic bowl, fill with water, put cards in, and stick it in the freezer. If you are worried about emergencies, take a card with no balance out with you (leave the others in the freezer) and put it in your shoe. This will do two things. First, it will make you assess if it's truly an emergency. Second, it will likely remind you with each step how much of a pain credit cards can be. :-)