No. of Recommendations: 0
This may provide some additional clarity of the rule and to what happened.

Competing in the second stage of the PGA Tour Qualifying School in an attempt to regain his PGA Tour Card for 2009, Hayes first discovered during a round that his caddie had handed him a different model of the Titleist ball that he had started the round with. The one-ball rule is in effect for these competitions, meaning that a player can not do this. So he accepted a two-stroke penalty and still felt he might have a chance to make it to the final qualifying test.

However, Hayes discovered after the round that the ball in question wasn't just the wrong model as he first thought. Instead, it was a model that was not yet on the approval list of the United States Golf Association. Although no one else would ever have known about the error, Hayes reported the fact to officials and disqualified himself. The price for his honesty was high--losing a chance to get back on the PGA Tour.
Print the post  


When Life Gives You Lemons
We all have had hardships and made poor decisions. The important thing is how we respond and grow. Read the story of a Fool who started from nothing, and looks to gain everything.
Contact Us
Contact Customer Service and other Fool departments here.
Work for Fools?
Winner of the Washingtonian great places to work, and Glassdoor #1 Company to Work For 2015! Have access to all of TMF's online and email products for FREE, and be paid for your contributions to TMF! Click the link and start your Fool career.