UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: doctorG Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75804  
Subject: to 403b or not to 403b? Date: 10/13/1998 9:58 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I have a couple of questions about retirement planning, apologizing on the front end for any blatant naivete (I'm new to investing and Fooldom).

I'm changing jobs in Jan., from teaching at a university to one in the private sector. While I'll be effectively doubling my salary (who said teaching is a valued profession?), the 403b at the new institution does not provide any matching funds. While the Foolish approach would appear to provide a rate of return superior outside a tax-deferred vehicle (according to steps 3 & 4 of the retirement tutorial), I'm a bit worried about leaving the womb of taxlessness. Ergo, I've got a couple of questions:

1. Has anyone bailed on thier 401k's or 403b's, and how would you rate the transition, and

2. A question of logistics: since I will be funneling a certain amount of cash for month into retirement, if I were to adopt the Full on Foolish approach (Dow Dividend, small caps, etc.) should I put that money in to a holding pattern, like a money market account, and acquire the securities every 6 mos. to avoid outrageous friction costs, or is it better to suffer the slings and arrows of outrageous commission fees? (Hm. That was quite the run-on sentence.)

3. would a hybrid plan, such as dividing funds between the 403b, IRA, and taxable securities, or is that just being a sissy?

Again, if this information is readily gotten elsewhere, I apologize for needlessly using bandwidth here. Any insight or direction would be gratefully appreciated.

DoctorG.
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Print the post Back To Top