UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (11) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: zuzu70 Three stars, 500 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 42361  
Subject: to be diplomatic with teacher Date: 1/30/2013 10:59 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
DS1 is in kindergarten. We love his teacher; she is warm, friendly, hardworking, and really cares about the kids. However, DS1 is bored and is beginning to hate school because of it. He's been reading (easy-readers, not chapter books or anything) since last year this time, and the homework he brings home is like, "point to each of the letters in your name and say the letter," reading individual words like "is" and "my," and adding numbers up to 5. I understand that it's difficult to differentiate work in the classroom for kindergartners; I was a teacher for 13 years and I don't expect miracles. But at least I would expect the homework done completely at home could be individualized.

It's a fullday program, and that's a lot of my kid's time wasted; I wish there were a half-day alternative where he could get his socialization, then I could work with him an hour in the afternoon and get him farther than he is now. I made that suggestion at a district meeting, but with No Child Left Behind and high demand for fullday I know it'll never happen.

So okay, I'm looking for a diplomatically-worded way to say "can my kid please be challenged more?" without spoiling my good teacher-parent relationship or making it sound like I think my kid's a cut above (which I don't think...I know from volunteering there that there are other kids who could be challenged more as well). I will admit that I disliked parents' complaints when I was a teacher and I don't want to bring out that feeling in the kindergarten teacher. Suggestions?