Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: ksurf Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121095  
Subject: Transfer of assets into new S-corp Date: 2/27/2000 2:00 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm a small home builder,sole propietor,and will elect S-corp status for 2000. Currently,I have 2 houses under construction and two other vacant lots I'll build homes on next year. Should these assets be transfered into the new corporation and become basis? I'll be the only shareholder. What about my truck? I also operate another schedule C business; a vacation rental with short term tenants. I would like to be protected from liability in this business also. Can I include this business in my S-corp as well? Should I? Should this beach house be transfered into the new corporation? I have taken the home office deduction for many years. What happens to this deduction now?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFTaxes Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 30322 of 121095
Subject: Re: Transfer of assets into new S-corp Date: 2/28/2000 3:34 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
<<I'm a small home builder,sole propietor,and will elect S-corp status for 2000.>>

Great...

<< Currently,I have 2 houses under construction and two other vacant lots I'll build homes on next year. Should these assets be transfered into the new corporation and become basis?>>

That's a difficult decision, and one that you should be made with a qualified tax pro. There are plusses and minuses depending on how you are CURRENTLY accounting for the construction in progress (% completion, completed contract, etc.).