Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: MoneyPenny06 Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 974  
Subject: Transitions Date: 10/19/2006 9:44 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0

I am planning to leave my job of 17 years, sometime next spring.

I want to spend more time with our daughter before she graduates high school and frankly, I just flat out need a break.

I've been working steadily since college for 23 years and before that, I always worked one or even two! part time jobs.

We will have a dramatic cut in household income, but having always been frugal, we have a nest egg that should carry us just fine until I figure out what I want to do with the rest of my life.

My husband has a good income, with health insurance.

So, in a nutshell, I am more concerned about the huge psychological shift...I was a type A for many years, advanced degrees, certifications, all that..

I would be interested in hearing the stories or getting advice from others who made a similar transition after years in the workforce.

Thank you, MP
Print the post Back To Top
Author: bookaholic Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 963 of 974
Subject: Re: Transitions Date: 10/19/2006 5:31 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
Cool, MP! I did not have years in the workforce, before staying home, but I went through all the motions of preparing for a high-powered career, and I have always worked, ever since I could babysit in middle school. I don't know if I am a type A, but I think I must be close.