UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (7) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Beans2345 One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 252118  
Subject: Typical Returns & Outsourcing Date: 12/5/2012 2:54 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am new to mechanical investing and am very intrigued.

1) What are the typical returns here compared to S&P?
2) Once I pick the strategy, is it possible to outsource the execution of buying and selling?
3) What is the quickest way to get started?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: mungofitch Big gold star, 5000 posts Top Favorite Fools Top Recommended Fools Feste Award Winner! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 240432 of 252118
Subject: Re: Typical Returns & Outsourcing Date: 12/5/2012 3:54 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 27
Welcome!

1) What are the typical returns here compared to S&P?

Returns are all over the map.
From among those who have stuck around here for several years,
admittedly a biased sample, expectation of beating the market by a few
points per year on average over a long time frame seem very reasonable.
This doesn't sound like a big deal, but it is.
Don't get seduced by the strategies that seem to promise 40%/year, it won't happen.
The goal should be moderate to good long term outperformance.

2) Once I pick the strategy, is it possible to outsource the execution of buying and selling?

Not a lot of posts from people who have tried this.
I tried, I failed, I do it myself. It's not hard.
But in theory there might be "investment advisors" willing to do this for you.
You have to ask yourself whether it's worth what they'll charge.
They will have to have discretionary authority on your account, which