UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (4) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: zigmund555 Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 308881  
Subject: Update to previous post Date: 7/17/2002 9:30 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
Ok.. thanks to the folks who offered advice on my BT (I'm new at this)

Wanted to update and ask another question..

Currently.. the CC debt is:

GetSmart Visa ~1900 @ 15%
Umbrellbank Visa ~1900 @ 10.5%
Discover 0% BT offer till 1/03 afterwards 12.5%
Citibank Personal Loan ~2500 @ 24.99% (ouch!!)

Also, have $300 in BrokerageAmerica Account (was playing the market but I'm new at that too and given it's volatility I decided to hold off for a bit)

$500 e-fund

Oh yeah, and the school loan I like to forget I have.. about $22,000 @~4.5%

After BT
GetSmart Visa - $0
Umbrellabank Visa ~1900
Discover - ~$4000 @ 0% till 1/03
Personal Loan ~$500 (which I want to pay off this month with snowball)

So.. here's my question. I know the smart thing to do would be to snowball the Umbrellbank Visa and ride out the Discover for 6 months. I could probably have most if not all of the Umbrellabank card paid off by then. Then to BT the remainder to another low interest offer.

But, I think I'd really feel better paying down the Discover. I think I'd like to hang onto that card, definately close off the GetSmart. (On a side note, I'd have to check my statements but I could have sworn that before the Fed started dropping the prime rate my APR went up when my balance went up).

Doesn't having a lot of credit accounts hurt your FICO? If you keep BTing things around then won't it still affect your FICO?