Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (19) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: nruder Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121323  
Subject: Using an IRA to save for a Home Date: 8/26/2000 12:03 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I am just beginning to invest/save for the future. I have assesed some of my family's future financial goals and the next big investment would be for a home in the next 7 years.

I have considered starting small by using a direct investment plan beginning with Intel. I feel comfortable and confident with this decision, but have not made up my mind if this investment/savings should be in an IRA with the specific purpose of being allocated to the pruchase of a house.

There are several advantages with putting into an IRA. One, this would defer any taxes until it is withdrawn. Two, if we decided to not use the money in the IRA, it could just stay there as part of our retirement.

I have read about the disadvantages of withdrawing money from an IRA for a home, but this was from an already existing IRA. This situation is a little different because we would start out with the money in the IRA specifically for a home.

Let me know your thoughts. Is an IRA a good place to put money aside for the purchase a home in the next 7 years or not?

Thanks for your help!!!!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: TMFExRO Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 39151 of 121323
Subject: Re: Using an IRA to save for a Home Date: 8/26/2000 1:32 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Let me know your thoughts. Is an IRA a good place to put money aside for the purchase a home in the next 7 years or not?