Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (5) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: CMC5758 Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 19026  
Subject: Variable Universal Life Date: 11/6/2000 8:35 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Greetings from a rookie poster. I've been monitoring (OK, lurking) this Discussion Board for several months, and have become very impressed with the wisdom handed out by Pixy and the people that take the time to contribute. Now I'd like to request some advice if I may.

I'm retiring at the end of this year at the age of 64. I intend to take a pension payout option that will continue the benefit to my wife (also 64) at 100% of the benefit over her life should I predecease her. I'm doing this as I believe the odds are that I will go first, plus there is no guarantee that the pension, once started, will be adjusted for inflation. The reduction from the amount I would receive if it were to be paid out during my life time only, is 16%.

In a meeting with a CFP this week he suggested I consider taking the pension on my life only, and provide for my wife with insurance. I agreed to at least review the option, and came away assuming I would consider Term Insurance. When I met with another advisor he said that Term would probably be too expensive and he suggest a Universal Life or more likely a Variable Universal Life policy. To me the Variable Life Policy implies a Variable Annuity for which I don't recall seeing many, if any, positive comments on this site. I'm not excited about this suggestion, but to be fair, I have not yet met with the Advisor so will be a nice guy and do so next week.

Meanwhile, I would very much appreciate any general comments and reaction to these kind of recommendations/policies.

Larry in NC