Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (13) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: hk2 Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121568  
Subject: Wash Sales losses Date: 3/15/2012 7:44 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
The first half of last year I was an active trader. My 1099 has a slew of transactions flagged as "wash sale, loss not allowed".

Although I've since sold everything and gone months without repurchasing those stocks, it's not clear to me when/how to realize those short term losses.

I'd appreciate someone pointing me in the right direction on this topic.

Thanks,
Jim
Print the post Back To Top
Author: AngelMay Big funky green star, 20000 posts Top Favorite Fools Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 115513 of 121568
Subject: Re: Wash Sales losses Date: 3/15/2012 7:57 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
The first half of last year I was an active trader. My 1099 has a slew of transactions flagged as "wash sale, loss not allowed".

Although I've since sold everything and gone months without repurchasing those stocks, it's not clear to me when/how to realize those short term losses.

Double-check your 1099.
I also had a wash sale loss - but my brokerage firm kindly added that loss to the cost of a second lot of that stock so I got the "advantage" of the loss (if you can call it that).

Maybe your broker did the same for you.

Otherwise, you will have to buy that same stock again and add the loss from the wash sale to the cost. At least I think that's what you have to do.

Wait for experts here. They will know for sure.

AM