No. of Recommendations: 3

Afternoon light on the sidewalk, the humid, Santa Monica kind that feels sticky but resort-like, palm fronds dropping from every tree (one almost hit me in the head), locating the bar by braille, and then? What? Cheeze and Ina in the darkest corner of the darkest bar in LA? O Lord. That is no good news for Cheeze. Ina, accomplished toper, is having a mere practice round, and is the type of woman who slips mickeys into fizzing drinks--I've fished a few suspicious capsules out of my own drinks with her in the past couple of weeks. Cheeze, still on C-H-O compound training wheels, I recognized to be in grave danger of being drunk under the table, perhaps even going catatonic, in the mere opening minutes of the opening round. I situated Irisand next to Ina and thought it prudent if we both watched both of them like hawks. We checked Cheeze's diet Coke to be sure there was nothing in it but carbonated syrup. (I am not good at watching, however, and I of course had hit both 28 and Atlas even before entering the car with my designated driver, thereupon becoming one of the first Fools ever to require a DD before drinks with autre Fools, and making my vigilance more difficult).