Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (8) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: tjbd Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 8764  
Subject: Re: QCOM at the movies Date: 2/13/2000 11:34 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0

We keep hearing how expensive film is and how much it costs to make the prints and ship it to theaters when it is actually a
small percentage of a movie budget.

I don't think that, initially, there will be in the way of cost savings. What WILL be saved, however, will be our fresh water supply. As a photographer myself, I finally sold off my entire darkroom when my son was born simply because I could no longer stand the thought of those gallons of highly toxic chemicals being in the house, let alone dumping them down the drain after a night of printing.

Yes, there are filters involved, but those chemicals don't just go away. The digital process is almost entirely chemical-free and for that reason alone, should be encouraged.

As for movies shot digitally, if you get a chance, go see a film called "Julia and Julia" starring Kathleen Turner and Sting.

It was produced by RAI Televisione Italia, and was the first film shot entirely in HDTV. It was a bit boring but I thought it was beautiful to look at.

And for animation, digital will and is, opening up new worlds that didn't exist in the film only days.

I try not to fight these innovations anymore. I used to be a purist, with my Leica, but I saw the light. You only need to let it in.

Of the five catagories of of customer involved in the
technology adoption life cycle, I'd rather be in the first group than the last. It's much more interesting.