UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (9) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: spunkeebeaver Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 1193  
Subject: What do you think? Date: 2/6/2000 11:09 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Greetings, eh? I purchase WMT stock through a payroll plan. Co. adds 15% of what we buy each pay. Stock split in Apr/99. Has gained $10 or so a share. On my wages, I can't max out my RRSPs. Would it be an option to sell some of my WMT shares to increase my contribution for '99? I am very new to this and would appreciate learning the pros/cons of this idea. Thanks for your input.
#spunkeebeaver
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Jacko2 Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 378 of 1193
Subject: Re: What do you think? Date: 2/7/2000 6:54 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Here's my thoughts:

1. First, you need to answer the question of whether you should carry some investments outside versus inside a registered plan. Generally, if you're in the top tax bracket now (ie, income > about $59,000/year), you'll want to contribute to such a plan. If you're in the bottom (<$30,000) bracket and don't expect that to change, you might be better advised to hold the shares outside the plan. In the middle, you'll have to make up your own mind.

2. Assuming you decide you want the shares inside a registered plan, you can either

a. sell them for cash outside the RRSP, and then contribute the cash. There's income tax consequences on the sale (capital gain/loss), and there may be administrative costs (check with your payroll folks); or