Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (11) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: ptheland Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 121114  
Subject: What I hate the most Date: 3/19/2012 11:27 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 58
I think I've decided what I hate the most in this business.

It's not the long hours or the cranky clients or the software that won't do what you want or making stupid mistakes that the client catches or dealing with the IRS. Nope. None of that stuff.

It's watching long-time clients as they decline.

Just had one in on Saturday. I've been doing his returns for 10 years or so. The first few, he was sharp as a tack. Had all of his numbers in order and knew where each one went on the tax return.

About 5 years ago I noticed that he was making mistakes. Didn't add up the right things, got confused easily. The next year his wife came to the tax appointment with him. For the first time.

Since then, she's slowly taken things over, although she (and I) know enough to make sure he is still involved in the process. If he asks a question, I'll answer it. If he gives me some info, I'll take it and make sure it gets on the return appropriately (with a wink and a nod to her as needed).

This year he was pretty much silent.

I fear by next year the silence will be permanent.

--Peter
Print the post Back To Top
Author: irasmilo Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 115564 of 121114
Subject: Re: What I hate the most Date: 3/20/2012 1:47 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I think I've decided what I hate the most in this business.