Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (10) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: MsPoppy Big red star, 1000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 252  
Subject: What kind of accounting....... Date: 7/10/2003 7:16 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 2
Are you either primarily interested in, or do you currently work in?

I'm personally very interested in internal audit, but I'd be curious to hear about the career opportunities in the IRS. Basically, I like the idea of using accounting tools and information to help better industries and areas that I perceive to have inherent problems. Although, part of why I'm actively pursuing accounting now is for the flexibility. It's a versatile skill set. I might want to do the books for a general store in the middle of nowhere some day. I currently work in finance, but in a whole other area.

I think that accounting can be the cornerstone for some real and creative business solutions, but not via "creative accounting". I also don't think accounting is the least bit boring (despite its reputation).

So tell me your stories, what you like about accounting, what you don't like. What your career challenges have been. What you'd like to see changed in the industry or in other industries.

Current relevant news articles are welcome. Even political discussion as they relate to this field (Discussions of the IRS are arguably a very political conversation).

Welcome, everyone! Let's have some fun!

-Poppy
Print the post Back To Top
Author: Chmelkova2 One star, 50 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 10 of 252
Subject: Re: What kind of accounting....... Date: 7/11/2003 3:50 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0