UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (11) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: harryot Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 75381  
Subject: What Should We do? Date: 4/25/2001 1:27 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi,

I am 53 years old and my wife is 51. Through the Grace of God I will be getting a lump sum pension and a severence package from my company of 33 years. The total with the 401k is about $1.3 million. I have other investments totaling about $300k which are more liquid. I have been seeking financial advice, however am still confused. One financial planner recommends Variable Life Annuities with a large insurance company. What do you guys think? I have been investing for a few years and I would like to think it was skill and luck that got me to $300k, however it scares me to think that I could manage a portfolio of $1.3 million without professional help and so much on the line.

Thanks in advance for your responses
Print the post Back To Top
Author: PMcMullenCT Three stars, 500 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 29315 of 75381
Subject: Re: What Should We do? Date: 4/25/2001 2:07 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
One financial planner recommends Variable Life Annuities with a large insurance company. What do you guys think?

Have you read this Fool article on annuities?:

http://www.fool.com/retirement/annuities/annuities01.htm?REF=PRMPIN

Author: JAFO31 Big gold star, 5000 posts Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 29316 of 75381
Subject: Re: What Should We do? Date: 4/25/2001 2:23 PM