UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (3) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: mrwade Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 76406  
Subject: What to do? Date: 3/16/2001 10:02 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
Hi-

I'm kind of new to this and need some help. Here's my situation:

--I am 26 and am not currently working this year (I'm in school).
--I have a 401(k), a 403(b), and a pension plan from my previous employer (the state); each one has not much money.
--My husband is 28 and is currently working for the state, and has all three listed above; each one with not much money as well.
--My husband is not currently contributing to either the 401(k) or the 403(b).
--His employer does not match contributions since they have their own retirement plan.
--We are in the 15% tax bracket.
--I would like to set up Roth IRA's for both of us.

First of all, I know I can roll over both my 401(k) and 403(b) into a traditional IRA and then into a Roth IRA. How do I go about getting started on this? My 403(b) is currently with TIAA-CREF, does anyone know if they have Roth's? Also, I don't think we can do anything with my husband's 401k/3b's since he is still working with the state, right? Presumably he would just have to start a Roth IRA from scratch. Unfortunately, this means he would have 4 separate retirement plans, each with a little bit of money (at least for now).

Also, someone please correct me if I'm wrong on these facts: I can contribute to a Roth IRA this year (even though I'm not working) since my husband is working. We can contribute up to $2000 apiece to each Roth IRA and the amount that I convert from my soon-to-be traditional IRA will not count towards that amount right?

Whew, so much to think about, it is easy to get overwhelmed! Any advice is much appreciated.

thanks,
mrw