Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (11) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: Ronbert Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 25242  
Subject: What to do with Federal 401K? Date: 11/15/2011 9:29 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I was a federal civil service engineer for 25 years and paid into the Federal Thrift Savings Plan, a 401K account. My base closed and I lost my job but I was studying law at night and graduated from law school. I am trying to pass the California Bar exam and have failed twice and it may take some time. I have $175K in my account and need to tap into it for money to live on. The government only allows you to make a one time partial withdrawal, or to take it out completely in one payment, or to take it out in monthly payments until empty, or to roll it over into another 401K. I cannot do the one time payment because I may not take out enough and if I take it all I won't have any at retirement. Is there a way to roll it into another type of 401K (or several 401K accounts)so that I can take out piecemeal (say around 15K a year?) and still have some left at retirement after I pass the bar (hopefully)....?
Print the post Back To Top
Author: aj485 Big gold star, 5000 posts Feste Award Nominee! Old School Fool Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 24777 of 25242
Subject: Re: What to do with Federal 401K? Date: 11/15/2011 9:45 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 1
The government only allows you to make a one time partial withdrawal, or to take it out completely in one payment, or to take it out in monthly payments until empty, or to roll it over into another 401K.