Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (14) | Ignore Thread Prev | Next
Author: Gigaman Big red star, 1000 posts Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 58560  
Subject: What Worked For Me Date: 7/4/2003 1:27 AM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll . Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 65
Hello everyone. This is my first post to this board, and while I have read many opinions and experiences, I thought I would take a moment and share what has worked for me in my weight loss.

I will start by giving a little introduction into where I started and what helped me to begin a transition into a different lifestyle. At the end of March, 2002, I weight 320 pounds as a 6'0, 27 year old male. As a former football player, I have large frame with big shoulders and thighs, so my desirable weight is somewhere around 210-220 pounds. When I graduated High School, I weighed 220 pounds, lifted weights 4 times a week and would run 5-7 miles 5 times per week. In college I still ate like a football player, but rarely exercised and gained somewhere between 10-20 pounds per year for seven years straight.

On April 3, 2002, I was on a business trip and staying in a hotel. That night while in my hotel I ordered two medium pizzas delivered with a two-liter of pepsi. After polishing off about 12 slices of pizza and most of the two liter, I sat in chair and saw my image in the mirror across the room. I felt like I could feel my heart throbbing and for a moment I was wondering whether I was going to make it through the night. I am sure it was nothing more than heartburn, but it made me feel so guilty for the life that I had limited myself to.