Message Font: Serif | Sans-Serif

UnThreaded | Threaded | Whole Thread (6) | Ignore Thread Prev Thread | Next Thread
Author: aliceand Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: of 768  
Subject: What's going on? Date: 1/19/2001 4:22 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 0
I'm a novice investor, but it seems to be with such
good earnings reported yesterday, the stock shouldn't be taking such a major dive! What am I missing? Is it just sinking with the entire biotech sector or what?

Do I dump it now and buy later? I bought at 77 and am hating life!
Print the post Back To Top
Author: timccim Add to my Favorite Fools Ignore this person (you won't see their posts anymore) Number: 343 of 768
Subject: Re: What's going on? Date: 1/19/2001 4:59 PM
Post New | Post Reply | Reply Later | Create Poll Report this Post | Recommend it!
Recommendations: 3
Relax aliceand:

The drop seems to be tied to the company's forecast for next year (i.e. 72-75 cents/share verse analysts forecasts of 78 cents/share)

The good news is that the reason for the company's reduced forecast is the cost of bringing a new drug to market in summer or fall of this year (subject to FDA approval of course).

By the way, I got most of this information by clinking on the "news" hightlighted next to the company name here at the Fool.

Drug companies spend alot of money developing new drugs and they spend alot more money getting FDA approval for these drugs. Hopefully some of these drugs get to market and are successful. But it all takes time.

If you bought this stock with the long term in mind, relax. Read more about the company and their drug pipeline. If you're not happy with the company or its pipeline, then consider selling. But don't base your decision to sell on today's stock price.

Best regards,

Tim