No. of Recommendations: 1
So I'm tired of living in apartments and want a house. The following describes my situation; when am I likely to be able to qualify for a loan?

- I plan to graduate grad school with a PhD in August or so, and begin a new job soon after

- The job I'm taking is located in the same location as my university, and the company has strong ties to my research group

- As a grad student I've been making a little shy of $30K/year, but my new job will pay $110K; my 2013 taxable income is likely to be around $65K

- I am single with no dependents and no debt besides a couple credit cards I pay off in full; to the best of my knowledge, my credit score dances around 760

- I estimate I can have about $25K available for a down payment by the end of the year

- I would probably be looking at houses that are in a $130-170K range. [Using "how much house can you afford" calculators, too expensive to afford based on my grad student income, but cheap enough to afford even if I used my partial-grad-student/partial-real-job income for 2013]

I'm guessing that banks wouldn't be satisfied me coming to them in October or November and would want me employed longer, but when could I reasonably expect one to play ball? Could I qualify early next year, after doing 2013 taxes?
Print the post Back To Top
No. of Recommendations: 4
<i- I plan to graduate grad school with a PhD in August or so, and begin a new job soon after

- The job I'm taking is located in the same location as my university, and the company has strong ties to my research group

Since you are staying in the same line of work, you should be able to qualify almost immediately, based on your new salary.

- I am single with no dependents and no debt besides a couple credit cards I pay off in full; to the best of my knowledge, my credit score dances around 760

Congrats on what you've been able to achieve!

- I estimate I can have about $25K available for a down payment by the end of the year.